Image

Resolution. Failure.

Alright.  Let’s face it. I failed. Great resolution but honestly life turned out to be obsessed with school. Obsessed I tell you! Every weekend was about studying and homework and I was bad and barely went grocery shopping.  And if I’m being super candid, I ate terribly too. Fast food was enjoyed way too much and healthy food was ignore in the same way. ” Easy” was my word when it came to cooking….not “healthy” or “home made”.  That also means sticking to my resolution was absolutely not going to happen. *sigh*

My last post was around January…this is June. Yikes. I did make a few recipes over the past 5 months or so but those haven’t been written up yet. I have a lot of catching up to do.

I think I have recovered from my semester a bit and now I’m chomping at the bit to get back to this cookbook goal. I’m excited for what I can get done this summer but it might be quite awhile between posts, folks. Just being realistic here.

In other news, with all that bad eating from this past semester, I’ve been more than a little inspired to start some sort of dieting or weight loss program. The hardest thing for me is moving more often and eating at home more frequently. I figured summer was a good time to start new eating habits since I have time to think about it.

Recently my workplace started a Weight Watchers group and with healthy eating on the agenda for the summer I decided to join in on the fun!

Fun, however, was not exactly what I was thinking  the week after sign ups. When they started explaining the Simple Start program I started inwardly groaning and scolding myself for joining. I was not thrilled with the food they were saying we could eat and I figured this would last me a whole week and I would be done.

The things that stopped me from giving up, however, was the accountability I was going to be experiencing by doing it in a group. My previous WW experience was on my own and I didn’t go to meetings which was probably also why I didn’t last. When I thought about the pressure of showing up next week and having lost nothing or maybe be the one to have gained weight I knew I had to give it a try. My embarrassment and pride is what motivates me :o) Good to know.

The other thing that encouraged me was knowing I could just count points and not do Simple Start to experience results. So I decided to get the first week a try. I am now three weigh-ins into the program and I am happy to report that I am down 7.6 lbs and enjoying the program so much!!

All that to say, I think my focus will switch a little bit on this blog to incorporate a few nuggets of wisdom from the WW world I am now a part of. That way if you also happen to be in a Weight Watchers program you can enjoy this food knowing the point value.

The one thing I love most about WW is that you don’t have to stop eating the food you love. And for me that means I still get to work on this goal of cooking and blogging about these yummy recipes. Should be fun!

Here’s a sneak peek of some recipes I’ll be posting. Get excited everybody! This novice cook is back in the kitchen!!

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

