Image

Homemade Roasted Chipotle Salsa


Text Add Salsa Pic

Alright dear readers. I am not a great cook. I’m not even a cook for goodness sake. I’m just a recipe follower that enjoys writing about my experiences in the kitchen. Novice status, confirmed.

However, once in a blue moon, I have a creative moment of genius. This salsa is my latest genius moment that I can’t help but get excited about!

Alright, let’s be honest. I got a little help from a fellow blogger since I am inexperienced in the roasting veggies for salsa department and she honestly lended me  tips to make this idea amazing….but…I kind of want to take the credit for thinking up the idea of doing a roasted salsa instead of buying one…and…for buying the ingredients that are going into the salsa! That was all me guys! I didn’t follow a recipe or anything until I got home and picked up a few extra ingredient ideas…..ugh. Who am I kidding. This is a semi-original idea at best. Who cares…it’s one of the best salsas I’ve ever had!

Where did the inspiration to make salsa come from you ask? Well it came about on a whim when buying ingredients for fajitas. Instead of buying salsa I thought it might be good to try and make my own so I know what’s going in it.

I think I’ve come to care a little bit more about what ingredients go into food since joining Weight Watchers. Since my world has become about counting everything I eat, I love easy, no count recipes that are full of fruits and veggies (0 point foods for the most part) because they make my life so much easier.

Alright back to the salsa! When you think about your favorite salsa(s) it’s likely that you have a consistency in mind when trying to put one together yourself. One of my favorite in the jar salsas is Pace Picante. I think it is just the right mix of chunky and spicy and the flavor works. If we’re talking restaurants, I love El Torito Grill’s chipotle salsa or Chili’s salsa you get with your chips (so so so my favorite thing they make!) For me, I’m not much of a fan of salsa that is pico de gallo consistency. I  tend to love the ones that resemble more of a marinara sauce and have a smokey or chipotle flavor to them.

For the record, I know very little about buying peppers/chilis or roasting them other then a few things I’ve seen on the Food Network, and let’s face it….I don’t remember the details of much to save my life, let alone a show I watched forever ago. So, the humorous part of this whole thing is that I did really good when picking peppers for this salsa. I ended up buying some jalapenos and Anaheim chilis along with chipotle peppers in a can to add to the flavor I was wanting.

The ingredients that I picked up from the store or assembled before starting this adventure include:

minced garlic, 2 jalapeno peppers, 1 Anaheim chili, 4 roma tomatoes, 1 can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, 1 onion, and 1 lime.

20140716_180605

Other ingredients that I included were cumin, fajita seasoning, salt, oregano and white wine vinegar. I have to give credit to Monica from “The Yummy Life” blog since it’s her site I landed on when trying to figure out how to roast my peppers for the salsa. She has a pretty delicious looking Roasted Salsa Recipe you should check out too!

I knew I wanted the flavor that comes with roasting the peppers so Monica’s site did a marvelous job of telling me how simple it was. What I wasn’t planning to do was roast the tomatoes and onion but I happily took that suggestion and added them to my roasting pan.

20140716_181622

To begin I cut the onion into chunks, halved and scooped the seeds out of tomatoes and then loaded up my jalapeno peppers and Anaheim chili. Monica suggests 450 for 30 min so I went with her recommendation and that worked well.

NOTE: I would probably spray your pan down lightly. I failed to do this and the onions were sticking to the foil. Luckily, I checked on them about half way into the 30 min and moved them around a bit to keep them from sticking too much.

When the time is up Monica suggests removing the veggies from the oven and putting something over the pan to help them steam up a bit. I found a pan that was about the same size and put it over top as she recommends but you could probably do foil too if you didn’t have two similar sized pans.

20140716_190336

 

Once the veggies sit for a bit out of the oven, the skins will be much easier to remove and make the rest of the process go a lot quicker. I peeled the tomatoes and then cut the peppers in half, removed the stems and then scrapped out the seeds. The one thing I do know about peppers is that their seeds are what hold some of the heat so if you are not like me and enjoy the burn of a hellish salsa, then leave those babies in there. If I had any seeds in there it was only by accident! She suggests using gloves when working with the peppers. Good idea if you are using some really hot guys, but I made sure to keep my hands on task and then straight into the sink when done to avoid transferring the heat of the chilis to the counters or other fun things like my eyes!

20140716_190258

Once you’re done with the peeling and extra cutting, then throw your stuff in the food processor along with a teaspoon or two of garlic, lime juice, and a chipotle pepper. I only wanted to put one of the chipotle peppers in after I licked my finger to try the adobo sauce. Spicy indeed! I about choked on the heat of it! Did you guess that spicy isn’t my thing?? Because of that I choose to drain the chipotle of some of its juices to reduce the extra liquid going into the salsa. I actually don’t know if it mattered too much other then it probably took some of the heat out of it.

At this point I added in my spices. I knew I was going to do cumin and salt and while scrounging through the spice cabinet I found some fajita seasoning I decided to include as well. However, Monica gave me the tip about the oregano and vinegar. She suggests apple cider vinegar….I wasn’t paying close attention (shocker) when reading her blog so I grabbed the white wine vinegar which was just fine. She suggests that the vinegar gives it a tang and to not put in a bunch or you can even leave it out completely if you’re not interested in adding that element to the salsa. I needed a little liquid so I probably put a teaspoon or two in to help with that. Water would obviously have done the same thing, but vinegar made sense in the moment. I didn’t have exact measurements for any of these ingredients so if you’re looking for something exact, go back up to the link and see her recipe. I was embracing the spontaneous that night :) If you’re feeling a bit dangerous and spontaneous yourself, then have at it. You can’t really mess up salsa unless you drop your salt shaker in there…and even then, if you go back and roast a bunch of veggies to make the batch bigger, eventually it won’t be that salty any more!

20140716_191132

This picture shows where I was at after a pulsing it for a few whirls around the food processor. At this point I began tasting it for flavor and adding some salt and lime juice along with some of the other spices in as needed. I couldn’t tell you how much salt I added to it, so if you’re making this I would plan to start with 1 tsp and go from there adding as you see fit. I had a taste tester say it was too salty but I thought it was okay so know yours and your audiences palate to salt accordingly. Season it until you have it where you want it and then scoop and enjoy!

For using the four roma tomatoes, this only made up about 3/4 to 1 cup of salsa so any big batches you wanted to make would need to include a bunch more ingredients. That amount was enough for David and I to enjoy with chips and add to our fajitas, while also having about a 1/2 cup left over.

I love this salsa so much that when I’m done writing it I will be heading back to the store  to get more ingredients for a second batch. I still have chips that need a friend so I’m going to go and fix that quickly!

CANNING:

I see on Monica’s blog that she cans her salsa (with detailed instructions on how to do that…thank you!). I love and fear that idea since I’ve only ever canned stuff a few times before.I I do, however, really want to give it a try again and I have a good reason why! I”m possibly going to go on a missions trip with my church to Israel this next year and in the process of thinking through fundraising efforts I thought canning and selling some stuff would be a fun way to raise support and thank people for it at the same time. I pinned a few recipes I thought would be fun to make that are not too complicated but would produce some yummy results. I don’t know if I had a salsa on there, but I certainly will now!

I recently bought the Ball FreshTECH Automatic Jam & Jelly Maker with this fundraising idea in mind and I can’t wait to use it! Of course I will blog about those recipes but dream with me for a minute please…bacon jam, carrot cake jam, onion jam, and raspberry jalapeno jam….wow right?? I can’t wait to get started!! Even if I don’t get selected to go on the trip, you better believe I’m using my new little machine to on those guys!

Alright, this was suppose to be a quick post but I’m getting a bit long winded here. Make this salsa! You won’t regret it :)

20140716_192023

 

WEIGHT WATCHERS NOTES AND UPDATE!

WW friends this is zero points so eat hardy! I would love to add some fruit into this guy (mango, peaches, etc) which would also be a low point addition.

As for me and my journey, I am happy to report I am at a 16.4 pound loss as of 7/17. I’m happy things are still moving along and I’m still able to enjoy foods like this!

Leave a Reply

