The best Apple Crisp…ever…


It’s been a long time since I’ve posted because life has been so busy, but this recipe is going to allow me to come back with a bang. This recipe is awesome!

You can find this recipe at AllRecipes.com and something you should know about this site is that user reviews is what is going to make these recipes go from good to great. I’ve taken a few recipes from here over the years and learned  that if someone is going to give their input about a recipe, it’s a good idea to listen up. Especially for a novice cook like me. Let others go before me and make the mistakes that I would have made because I didn’t know any better. If you like input on recipes, this is an awesome site to help you out.

This recipe drew my attention because it meant, I didn’t have to go to the store to pick up any special pantry supplies. Low on money right now so I love that. Also, I had just been apple picking a few days before which means the fruit was taken care too. Success!

The recipe is simple and basic but some users gave some helpful tips that I took into account when I was putting mine together:

1. Replace the water with apple juice

2. Replace the full amount of white granulated sugar with half white sugar and half brown sugar

3. Don’t cream together butter and sugars, but use a pastry cutter to cut in the butter. This will allow there to be a crunchy topping without the oatmeal

4. Cook the crisp for 50 mins instead of 30-40 minutes.

Here are a few things I would recommend as well…

JA Tip 1: BUY AN APPLE CORER. I splurged and bought one for this project with a gift card from Jamie for my birthday. It’s exactly what made this whole recipe easy.

JA Tip 2: Peel your apples and rub the outsides with lemon juice so they don’t get brown before you cut them up. If you do use the corer make sure to put some lemon juice down in the core of the apple too. I didn’t think about that till I cut my apples and found the cores browning already. Some apples are better then others so you may not notice as much but since I used a variety of apples I used the lemon juice on all of them.

This recipe is set for 6 servings but I made mine for 8. The website will help you alter your ingredients for the larger serving size.

Here’s the recipe without the adjustment I indicated above:

2-2/3 cups sliced apples
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 cup water
2/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup butter
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease an 8×8 inch baking dish.
2. Place apples in prepared dish. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Pour water over all. In a bowl, cream together sugar and butter. Blend in flour. Sprinkle mixture evenly over apples.
3. Bake in preheated oven 30 to 40 minutes, until apples are tender and crust is golden.

I hope you try this recipe! It’s one of the easiest and tastiest desserts I have made in awhile and will definitely make again soon since it is apple season!!!

UPDATE AS OF 10.22.12: I just made this recipe again but didn’t measure my apples and I also cooked it in my mom’s smaller toaster oven. These two changes made for a less crunchy top. I’m not sure if any extra apples caused more moisture or if the toaster oven just didn’t get the topping firm enough, but I would suggest that you actually measure your apples and if you’re cooking in a smaller oven, to maybe put it down 10-25 degrees for the same amount of time or longer if needed. I had to pull mine out before the 50 mins were up because things were going from caramelized to burnt. The lower temp for longer time, might have done the trick. Let me know if you have any suggestions or if one of these causes you the same problem. Would love to get some wisdom on the soggy crust dilemma.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.